Bull & Last – 168 Highgate Road, London NW5 1QS

Bull & Last

From stripesandbutterflies.wordpress.com

Even though I’m a Guardian reader I don’t spend much time in North London. So when a friend whose opinion I trust recommended the Bull and Last myself and three freinds decided to give it a try one Saturday afternoon.

We started with the Homemade Charcuterie Board (Duck Prosciutto, Chicken Liver Parfait, Ham Hock Terrine, Rillettes, Pig’s Head, Pickles, Remoulade & Toast). All the elements were solid, I particularly loved the Chicken Liver Parfait, it was truly delicious, I just wish I didn’t have to share it. The Duck Prosciutto was ok but I still greatly prefer this from a pig.

We also shared the Saucisson Sec & Cornichons and some Scotch Eggs, the sausage was delicious, I liked this more than the Saucisson Sec I had at Brawn. The Scotch Egg was also top notch, golden runny goodness surrounded by moist sausage meat, the nicest I’ve had in London to date.

For a main I enjoyed the Cornish Roast Cod, Oxtail Ragu, Lemon & Truffle Gnocchi & Monksbeard. The Cod was cooked wonderfully with a great crispy skin, the simple delicate fish went wonderfully well with the very rich oxtail ragu. The gnocchi was homemade, light and not overwhelmed by the truffle oil. Monksbeard looks like samphire but the flavour is not as strong, apparently it’s only available for about five weeks a year so I feel a bit special getting to try it.

Our waitress was pleasant and very enthuastic about the menu. I really enjoyed the Bull and Last but with the Canton Arms only 10 minutes from my home I’m not sure i’ll make it up there often.

Un Cojón!

http://www.thebullandlast.co.uk
Bull & Last on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

