Mishkin’s – 25 Catherine Street London, WC2B 5JS

Mishkin's

From tehbus.com

Mishkin’s is the latest in the “empire” owned by Russell Norman and Richard Beatty. A non kosher Jewish deli, not as hip as its Soho sisters Spuntino and Polpo. The look is very similar to the other restaurants but again not quite as cool and it looks like no deli I’ve ever been to in New York.

The Reuben on Rye with Pastrami, Sauerkraut, Russian Dressing & Swiss Cheese was very tasty but don’t go expecting New York size servings piled high with meat (see 2nd Ave Deli). The pastrami was good quality but I would have preferred it more thickly sliced, it was quite thin which I think dries it out somewhat.

The chicken matzo ball soup was great but with just a single matzo ball a little dissapointing, the chicken soup itself was perfect, a salty chicken broth full of flavour and homely just like Bubbe used to make.

My favourite dish was the Meat Loaf, it was moist, perfectly seasoned had a big blast of herbs and a fantastic soft boiled egg inside. It could  have only be better if it was bigger!

I had the special Malteser Milkshake for dessert, this was disappionting, all the mushed up Maltesers sank and congealed at the bottom of the glass leaving the milk tasting of nothing but milk.

Un Cojón!

http://mishkins.co.uk/

Mishkin's on Urbanspoon

5 thoughts on “Mishkin’s – 25 Catherine Street London, WC2B 5JS

  1. Two wafer-thin slices of meat – and you’re calling this a Reuben.
    It’s more sauerkraut than meat. And it’s more bread than anything else.
    If I wanted a loaf of bread, I would have gone to a bakery.
    Are you joking?
    Marks and Spencer makes pre-packed Ham sandwiches with more meat than this thing!
    I’ve never seen such a stingy sandwich, let alone a Reuben.
    A place like this would be laughed out of existence in New York, New Jersey – or any state in America for that matter.

    What a let down… I will never return again.

  2. Where is the meat?

    Two wafer-thin slices of meat – and you’re calling this a Reuben.
    It’s more sauerkraut than meat. And it’s more bread than anything else.
    If I wanted a loaf of bread, I would have gone to a bakery.
    Are you joking?
    Marks and Spencer makes pre-packed Ham sandwiches with more meat than this thing!
    I’ve never seen such a stingy sandwich, let alone a Reuben.
    A place like this would be laughed out of existence in New York, New Jersey – or any state in America for that matter.

    Shame on you Mishkin’s

    What a let down… I will never return again.

  3. I ate at Mishkin’s on Sunday afternoon because I fancied the taste of a Reuben. Of course, I prefer my Reuben with Salt Beef rather than Pastrami… so when I ordered my Reuben I asked the waitress if she could make my Reuben using Salt Beef rather than using Pastrami. She said, “Sorry Sir, we don’t do that here.”

    I was a bit taken back, because it said on the menu that they also serve Salt Beef sandwiches. So it’s not like they didn’t have any Salt Beef on hand in the kitchen.

    The very moment the waitress said, “Sorry Sir, we don’t do that here.” – that was the moment I should have got up and walked out. But hindsight is always 20/20 and I just assumed they had a very good reason for the rigid policy. So rather than get up and walk out, some strange part of my brain decided to become compliant and said, “OK, I’ll have it with the pastrami then.”

    When the Reuben sandwich arrived on the table, the Pastrami filling was indeed rather slim. But I remedied this shortcoming by forking the pastrami out of one side and putting it all together onto one half, and thereby abandoning two slices of bread. Even so, with all the Pastrami forked over to one side, it was still rather anemic.

    I don’t know why they’re making these sandwiches so paper-thin – but it certainly can’t be good for building a clientele. I certainly wont eat there again.

    As I see it, I learned a valuable lesson. Always go with your initial impression. When the waitress said, “Sorry Sir, we don’t do that here.” – that was the moment I should have got up and walked out. Having said that, I won’t make the mistake again.

    • You’re right William, in hindsight now that I think about it there is not a chance in hell I would take a NYC friends to Mishkin’s for a Reuben, they would never speak to me again.

Leave a Reply

